2011 Cricket World Cup in Sri Lanka, India and Bangladesh

Sri Lanka will co-host the 2011 Cricket World cup along with India and Bangladesh. Sri Lanka Cricket (the country’s Cricket board) has suggested that matches will be played at Colombo’s Premadasa Stadium as well as two new stadiums in Hambantota and Pallekelle.

With ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 coming in the year 2011, the game would rise to new levels. If you are a Cricket fan searching for ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 schedule, Cricket World Cup 2011 fixtures, Cricket World Cup 2011 venue and Cricket World Cup 2011 teams, then you need not to go elsewhere as you will get information on Ajith’s Blog, Cricket World Cup 2011 venue and Cricket World Cup 2011 teams and ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 schedule and every other info about ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 will be the 10th World Cup. Prior to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, 9 Cricket World Cups have been organized by ICC. Australia have emerged winner on the most occasions – 4. Closely following is West Indies, who won the inaugural and the very next World Cup. All the Indian Subcontinent teams – India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won 1 World Cup each. Australia won in 1987, 1999, 2003 and 2007. West Indies won on 1975 (the first World Cup) and 1979. India won the World Cup in 1983, Pakistan won the World Cup in 1992 and Sri Lanka won in 1996.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 schedule and Cricket World Cup 2011 fixtures: ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 schedule and Cricket World Cup 2011 fixtures are given below on our website.

Match Date Teams Venue
1 19 Feb India vs Bangladesh Dhaka
2 20 Feb New Zealand vs Kenya Chennai
3 20 Feb Sri Lanka vs Canada Hambantota
4 21 Feb Australia vs Zimbabwe Ahmedabad
5 22 Feb England vs Netherlands Nagpur
6 23 Feb Pakistan vs Kenya Hambantota
7 24 Feb South Africa vs West Indies New Delhi
8 25 Feb Australia vs New Zealand Nagpur
9 25 Feb Bangladesh vs Ireland Dhaka
10 26 Feb Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Colombo
11 27 Feb India vs England Kolkata
12 28 Feb West Indies vs Netherlands New Delhi
13 28 Feb Zimbabwe vs Canada Nagpur
14 1 Mar Sri Lanka vs Kenya Colombo
15 2 Mar England vs Ireland Bangalore
16 3 Mar South Africa vs Netherlands Mohali
17 3 Mar Pakistan vs Canada Colombo
18 4 Mar New Zealand vs Zimbabwe Ahmedabad
19 4 Mar Bangladesh vs West Indies Dhaka
20 5 Mar Sri Lanka vs Australia Colombo
21 6 Mar India vs Ireland Bangalore
22 6 Mar England vs South Africa Chennai
23 7 Mar Kenya vs Canada New Delhi
24 8 Mar Pakistan vs New Zealand Pallekelle
25 9 Mar India vs Netherlands New Delhi
26 10 Mar Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe Pallekelle
27 11 Mar West Indies vs Ireland Mohali
28 11 Mar Bangladesh vs England Chittagong
29 12 Mar India vs South Africa Nagpur
30 13 Mar New Zealand vs Canada Mumbai
31 13 Mar Australia vs Kenya Bangalore
32 14 Mar Pakistan vs Zimbabwe Pallekelle
33 14 Mar Bangladesh vs Netherlands Chittagong
34 15 Mar South Africa vs Ireland Kolkata
35 16 Mar Australia vs Canada Bangalore
36 17 Mar England vs West Indies Chennai
37 18 Mar Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Mumbai
38 18 Mar Ireland vs Netherlands Kolkata
39 19 Mar Australia vs Pakistan Colombo
40 19 Mar Bangladesh vs South Africa Dhaka
41 20 Mar Zimbabwe vs Kenya Kolkata
42 20 Mar India vs West Indies Chennai
43 23 Mar First Quarterfinal Dhaka
44 24 Mar Second Quarterfinal Colombo
45 25 Mar Third Quarterfinal Dhaka
46 26 Mar Fourth Quarterfinal Ahmedabad
47 29 Mar First Semifinal Colombo
48 30 Mar Second Semifinal Mohali
49 02 Apr FINAL Mumbai

Once you bookmark this page you can view ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 schedule and Cricket World Cup 2011 fixtures anytime you like.

Cricket World Cup 2011 venue: With India as the main host of ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, Cricket World Cup 2011 venue includes stadiums of cities like Dhaka, Mumbai, Kolkata, Mohali, Colombo, Chennai, Nagpur, Ahmedabad, chittagong and Bangalore. Cricket World Cup 2011 venue also includes new venues like Pallekelle and Hambantota – both being in Sri Lanka.

Cricket World Cup 2011 teams: Cricket World Cup 2011 teams include 4 times winner Australia, 2 times winners West Indies, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, New Zealand, Netherlands, Canada, Ireland, England and Kenya. Groups in which Cricket World Cup 2011 teams are divided:

Group A – Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya.

Group B – India, South Africa, England, Bangladesh, West Indies, Netherlands and Ireland.

Muralitharan Takes Record 800th Wicket in Final Test

Spinner Muttiah Muralitharan became the first cricketer to take 800 Test wickets, extending his record tally in his final match before quitting the elite format of the game.

Muralitharan was hoisted aloft by his teammates at Galle stadium after Indian batsman Pragyan Ojha was caught from Muralitharan’s final ball of his 18-year Test career. Sri Lanka went on to win by 10 wickets.

The 38-year-old has taken the 800 wickets in 133 Test matches and 515 wickets in 337 one-day internationals, also the highest tally. He broke the record of 502 one-day wickets held by Wasim Akram last year and eclipsed Shane Warne’s mark of 708 Test wickets in 2007.

Sri Lanka’s most successful sportsman helped the island nation win the cricket World Cup in 1996 and used his celebrity status to galvanize reconstruction efforts following the devastating tsunami that killed 30,000 people in 2004.

“It was a  proud day for every Sri Lankan — his contribution has not just been numbers, he has built a profile for the country and put Sri Lanka on the map.”

Muralitharan, who varies conventional off-spin with balls that slide straight on and so-called doosras which turn the other way, has averaged six wickets per Test. A native of the hill station town of Kandy, his 67 five-wicket hauls in an innings are a record, as is his tally of taking 10 wickets in a match on 22 occasions.

Since making his Test debut in 1992, his action has prompted accusations of throwing from match officials. He’s been cited three times by umpires, only to be cleared of bowling illegally on each occasion after undergoing laboratory analysis.

Another incident in March 2004 forced cricket lawmakers to review their approach to throwing in international matches, culminating in a relaxation of the rules to allow all bowlers a greater degree of arm straightening in their delivery.

Muralitharan got the eight wickets he needed in the match against India to reach the 800 mark. SL team totaled 520, and India replied with 276 and 338 after the follow-on was enforced. Sri lanka won the match in 10 wickets at the end.

Well done Murali… We salute you….!!!